Hempstead, N.Y. - Senior guard Charles Jenkins (Queens, N.Y./Springfield Gardens) won the Haggerty Award as the top player in the metropolitan New York area for the third year in a row, it was announced today by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association (MBWA). He will be honored at this evening's NIT/MBWA Awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, New York.

Jenkins becomes only the third player in the 78-year history of the Haggerty Award to win it three times, joining Jim McMillian of Columbia (1968-70) and Chris Mullin of St. John's (1983-85). 

Jenkins capped off his career with Hofstra this winter by averaging a career-best 22.6 points per game, ranked sixth nationally, to help the Pride to a 21-12 final record and a second-place finish in the CAA at 14-4 (the program's highest finish since joining the CAA in 2001-02). He shot 51.7 percent from the floor on the year, while nobody else in the top 15 in scoring nationally shot over 50 percent, and also averaged 4.8 assists and only 2.2 turnovers per game.  

Over his four seasons, Jenkins amassed 2,513 points, becoming only the 63rd player in NCAA history to reach the 2,500-point plateau. He shattered the old Hofstra scoring record, held by former teammate Antoine Agudio (2,276 points), and also finished fifth in school history with 489 assists, 213 steals and 177 three-pointers. His 2,513 points also ranks second in Colonial Athletic Association history, behind only David Robinson of Navy (2,669).  

In addition to the Haggerty Award, Jenkins also earned national recognition this season by earning third-team All-America honors from four major media outlets, including Sports Illustrated.com, CBS Sports.com, The Sporting News, and Basketball Times. He also earned the Chip Hilton Award from the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), which is given to a senior who has demonstrated personal character on and off the court.

Jenkins is one of five Hofstra players to win the Haggerty Award in its history, joining Bill Thieben (1956), Rich Laurel (1977), Speedy Claxton (2000) and Norman Richardson (2001). All four previous winners went on to play in the NBA, and Jenkins could make it 5-for-5, as he is a strong candidate to be selected in this June's NBA Draft. He also had his jersey number (#22) retired by Hofstra as part of Senior Day ceremonies on Feb. 26, becoming the first Hofstrs student-athlete to have a number retired while still active.

The previous three-time Haggerty winners both went on to long professional careers as well. McMillian was a first round draft pick of the Los Angeles Lakers and averaged 19.1 points in the playoffs for the Lakers' 1972 NBA championship team, before finishing his nine-year NBA career with the Buffalo Braves, New York Knicks and Portland Trail Blazers. Mullin had a long and distinguished NBA career (17,911 points) and was a member of the United States gold medal winning team at the 1992 Olympics in Barcelona, Spain.  

Jenkins was joined on this year's All-Met first team by Dwight Hardy (St. John's), Mike Glover (Iona), Scott Machado (Iona), Jeremy Hazell (Seton Hall) and Julian Boyd (LIU). Jim Ferry of LIU was named the Metropolitan New York Coach of the Year.