Corporate Sponsorship Program
W.B. Mason
Whitmore Group
Article Image
(L to R) Robert F. McKeon, Vice President and Director of Athletics Jeffrey A. Hathaway and Colonel E. David Woycik, Jr. (Ret) Esq.
Courtesy: Hofstra Athletic Communications
Photo Album Send this article to a friend Print RSS

ATH: 24th Annual Hofstra Pride Golf Classic and Auction Recap

Courtesy: Hofstra Athletic Communications
Release: 09/21/2012
Hempstead, NY – The Hofstra Department of Athletics hosted the 24th Annual Hofstra Pride Golf Classic and Auction honoring Colonel E. David Woycik, Jr. (Ret) Esq. '77, '80, the current President of the Hofstra Pride Club, on Thursday evening at the Meadow Brook Club in Jericho, New York.

The evening program was highlighted by Woycik’s remarks and the presentation of the first Jack Lenz Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award to Robert F. McKeon ’53. McKeon was honored for his personal and financial commitment to Hofstra Athletics.  

"Special thanks to all the Pride Club members and friends of the athletic program that participated in the 24th Annual Hofstra Pride Golf Classic and Auction,” commented Hofstra University Vice President and Director of Athletics Jeffrey A. Hathaway.  “The Golf Committee, lead by chairman Neil Katz, did another outstanding job in hosting a fun day for all who participated.  Funds raised at the event will be directed to The Metzger Fund for Capital Improvements which provides for new facilities and enhancements to current facilities utilized by our student-athletes.  Special congratulations to the event's honorees - Col. David Woycik and Bob McKeon."

“Thank you to everyone who participated in yesterday’s festivities,” said Golf Committee Chairman Neil Katz ’88. “It was great to honor Dave and Bob and I was excited to see all of the support for Hofstra Athletics.”

See below to view the 2012 Golf Classic photo gallery. 

The full field of 30 foursomes were treated to a spectacular day at one of Nassau County’s finest golf courses.  Jon Reece captured the low gross award for the males, while Nancy McCallister was honored as the low gross female golfer.  
Denis RodriguesPhillip PennyShawn Grover and  Daniel Taranto took home first place in the net team competition using the Callaway Scoring system.  The golfer awards for the day can be viewed below.  

The Golf Classic featured three premium raffle prizes. Don Rudolph won a new iPad, Kevin Drayton won a $500 gift certificate to Ron Rizzo Jewelry store and Jeff Wurst won a 52" Sharp LCD flat screen television with wall mount.

Congratulations to PJ Bjorneby who won the evening’s first live auction item, a catered dinner for 10 at his home by Lackmann Culinary Services and to Woycik, who purchased the evening’s signature item, four tickets to Charles Jenkins’ first professional game in New York at the Barclays Center when Jenkins and the Golden State Warriors visit to face the Brooklyn Nets on December 7, 2012.  

(All net scoring used the Callaway Scoring System)

1st Low Team Gross
Dr. Larry Horl
Dr. Mike Alleva
Joe Rizzo
Peter Hucke

1st Low Team Callaway
Denis Rodrigues
Phillip Penny
Shawn Grover
Daniel Taranto

2nd Low Team Gross
Bob McKeon
Dave Woycik
Jon Reece
Tony Gerrato

2nd Low Team Callaway
Linda Caruso
Frank Caruso
Doug Augenthaler
Nancy Augenthaler

Individual Low Gross – Male
1st - Jon Reece  2nd - Ron Devivo

Individual Low Gross – Female
1st - Nancy McCallister  2nd - Marilyn Monter

Long Drive #8 (Male) - Jon Camera
Long Drive (Female) - Nancy McAllister
Closest to the Pin #9 - Bob Katz
Closest to the Pin # 16 - Dr. Mike Alleva

Facebook Share
Member Login
The Pride Online