Corporate Sponsorship Program
W.B. Mason
Whitmore Group
Article Image
The 1981-82 Women's Basketball Team
Courtesy: Hofstra Athletic Communications
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

ATH: Hall of Fame Inductee Spotlight - Women's Basketball

Courtesy: Hofstra Athletic Communications
Release: 02/20/2013

Hempstead, NY - Each week, leading up to the 2013 Hall of Fame Dinner on April 13, will feature one of the seven individuals and two teams being inducted in the Class of 2013. Today the 1981-82 Women's Basketball Team is highlighted.

"The best thing I was ever told was from a newspaper reporter. He was at a game along with our next opponent, Navy, and their coach said to him, 'Hofstra doesn't look very good.' The reporters' reply was the best statement I ever heard about our team. 'They may not always look that pretty when they play, but they just know how to win.' We defeated Navy in the Eastern Finals at Annapolis. We sure looked pretty that night!" - Hofstra Coach Harvey Pyser (1977-87)

Led by Coach Harvey Pyser, the 1981-82 women's basketball team posted a 27-9 record and was the Metropolitan Conference Champions, defeating C.W. Post in overtime for the crown. The team then won the Eastern AIAW Division II Championship Tournament by defeating C.W. Post, Holy Cross, Rider and Navy to win the title. The tournament win gave Hofstra a berth in the AIAW National Championship, where it lost to regional host Central State (OK) in the first round before defeating Colorado College in the regional third place game.

The 1981-82 season was the final season before the women's basketball program became a NCAA Division I program and the 27 wins are a school record.

Team members include: Eileen Emmert, Sheryl Hall, Karen Hickson, Donna Horoski, Liz Irwin, Amanda Johnson, Dia LaBella, Christine Lathuras, Diane Leonard, Dawn McGrath, Christine Morrow, Louisa Percudani, Myrna Pohl, Yvonne Risberg, Coach Pyser, Assistant Coach JoAnn Perricone, Assistant Coach Mary Jo Lorello and Manager Donna Jones.

Two members of the team - Irwin and LaBella - have their jerseys hanging from the rafters of the Mack Sports Complex as they were retired in 2009. Both players are also individual members of the Hofstra Athletics Hall of Fame, as Irwin was a 2006 honoree and LaBella was inducted in 2007.

Next week's Inductee Spotlight: The 1959-60 Men's Basketball Team

Facebook Share
Member Login
The Pride Online