Hempstead, NY - Hofstra junior guard Charles Jenkins (Queens, NY/Springfield Gardens) earned the Haggerty Award as the top player in the Metropolitan New York area for the second year in a row in a vote of the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association (MBWA).

Jenkins was presented the honor at the annual MBWA Haggerty Awards dinner on Wednesday evening. He becomes only the ninth player in the 77-year history of the Haggerty Award to win the honor more than once, and the first since Manhattan's Luis Flores earned it in back-to-back years in 2003 and 2004. Next year, he will have a chance to become only the third player to win it three times, joining Jim McMillian of Columbia (1968-70) and Chris Mullin of St. John's (1983-85), who shared the honor once (with Steve Burtt of Iona in 1984).

The other two-time winners include Dick McGuire of St. John's (1944, 1949), Sid Tannenbaum of NYU (1946-47), Ed Conlin of Fordham (1954-55), Phil Sellers of Rutgers (1975-76), and Malik Sealy of St. John's (1991-92).

"This award means a lot to me, because this is a New York award," said Jenkins at the Haggerty Awards Dinner in Tarrytown, New York on Wednesday evening. "This is the mecca of basketball. A lot of great players have played in New York, and to be able to earn this award twice is a great feeling."

Jenkins also earned the Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year honor this season, as well as honorable mention All-America honors from the Associated Press, this season after averaging 20.6 points, 4.5 rebounds and 3.9 assists per game. He finished the year ranked 20th in the nation in scoring and was one of only five players in the country who averaged at least 20 points, four rebounds and three assists.

Jenkins also finished his junior year with 1,767 career points, putting him 102 points ahead of the pace that former teammate Antoine Agudio (2004-08) set after his junior season on the way to breaking the Hofstra career scoring record with 2,276 points. Jenkins also now ranks eighth in school history with 336 assists and ninth in steals with 156, putting him in the top 10 in three different categories with one full season to play.  

In addition to making his mark in the CAA by winning the conference's Player of the Year honor, Jenkins also performed at a high level this season against the Pride's top six non-conference opponents, scoring 23 points against No. 1 Kansas, 25 points against Connecticut, 25 points against Charlotte, 24 points against St. John's, 38 points against Fairfield and 31 points against Rider. The 38 points against Fairfield marked the highest total for a Hofstra player since Speedy Claxton scored 40 points twice in the 1999-2000 season. He also closed the season strong, averaging 24.4 points over the last 14 games, while scoring 20 or more in 13 of those 14 contests (including the last nine in a row).

Jenkins is the fifth different Hofstra player to win the Haggerty Award (along with Bill Thieben in 1956, Rich Laurel in 1977, Claxton in 2000 and Norman Richardson in 2001), and the first to win it twice.