Hempstead, NY -- Hofstra University Director of Athletics Jack Hayes announced today that James C. Metzger '83 has made a leadership gift to support the men's and women's lacrosse programs and the football program.  Metzger's pledge will fund enhancements for a new Margiotta Hall Traditions Project that will proudly display the history of the three programs throughout the second floor.


Prior to men's lacrosse hosting the University of North Carolina on April 18, a reception at David S. Mack Hall (University Club) was held to honor and thank Metzger for his generous contributions to Hofstra Athletics.  At the reception, Hayes publicly announced Metzger's pledge for the first time and introduced plans that are in place to enhance Margiotta Hall through the Traditions Project.


In the spirit of the project, Metzger has chosen to name several areas of Margiotta Hall after former student-athletes.  The Traditions Project itself will be named after Mike D'Amato '68 and Lou DiBlasi '61.  D'Amato, a football and lacrosse all-conference selection, is one of only four Hofstra alumni to earn a super bowl ring (New York Jets, 1969).  DiBlasi, a four-year letterman in football and lacrosse, was a member of the 1956 Tiny 20 football squad as well as the 1959 undefeated football team.


The lacrosse offices will be named after Metzger and Kevin Huff '78.  Huff, a football and men's lacrosse standout, was a two-time All-American in lacrosse and ranks 10th all-time in rushing.  Metzger was a two-year letterman on the men's lacrosse team, earning honorable mention All-America honors in his sophomore campaign while scoring 4.9 points per game, which ranks fourth all-time in Hofstra history.  He is one of only three players to tally eight or more points three times in one season when he recorded eight points versus Penn State, Towson and North Carolina State in 1980.


The reception space between the men's and women's lacrosse head coaches' offices will be named after Gary Arnold '83 and the Unterstein family.  Arnold, a four-year letterman in lacrosse and team leader in goals in 1981 and 1982, went on to serve as an assistant coach under Harry Royle after graduation.  The Unterstein family is the only family in Hofstra Lacrosse history to collectively earn conference player of the year (Chris, 2006), defensive player of the year (Kevin, 2008) and rookie of the year (Mike, 2005).  Chris Unterstein earned first-team All-America accolades in 2006, while Kevin was a 2007 honorable mention All-American.  All three also participated in the North-South Senior All-star game (Chris in 2006, and Kevin and Mike in 2008).


"Jim's generosity has provided the funding to enhance Margiotta Hall for our student-athletes and coaches who work, study, train and meet together throughout the year," Hayes said.  "What is so powerful about Jim's way of supporting Hofstra Athletics is that he always involves others in his efforts.  His leadership with this project will help better engage our former players, inform our student-athletes of the rich tradition of these three programs and serve as a great model of giving back to Hofstra Athletics."