The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) is made up of two representatives from each of our 17 Division I athletic teams. The members are selected annually by their coaches and/or peers to represent their respective team on the committee. Within SAAC, there is an Executive Board that is voted on by all members of the committee at the conclusion of prior academic year. The Executive Board is responsible for setting all meeting agendas, as well as overseeing specific operations of SAAC including the Pride Cup competition, event coordination and community outreach.

The role of SAAC on the campus of Hofstra University as well as within the CAA is to: 

  • Promote communication between athletic staff and student-athletes.
  • Build a sense of community within the athletic program involving all athletics teams.
  • Organize community service efforts.
  • Create a vehicle for student-athlete representation on campus-wide committees.
  • Promote a positive student-athlete image.
  • Generate a student-athlete voice within the NCAA structure by recommending NCAA legislation and provide responses to proposed legislation.
  • Review, react and comment to the governance structure on NCAA activities and other subjects of interest.
  • Participate in the administrative process of athletic programs and the NCAA.

2013-14 Executive Board

Alexandra Mezzanotte - President

Ari Richman - Vice President

Ashley Ainbinder - Secretary

Emily Burke - Media Coordinator

Caity DeCoster - Pride Cup Coordinator

McKenzie Kudron - Pride Cup Coordinator

  1314 SAAC

2013-14 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Representatives

Graham Tebbit - Baseball

Chris Hardardt - Baseball

Jordan Allen - Men's Basketball

Stephen Nwaukoni - Men's Basketball

Sydni Epps - Women's Basketball

McKenzie Kudron - Women's Basketball

Riley Leder - Men's Cross Country

Jack Finlayson - Men's Cross Country

Jacklyn McKnight - Women's Cross Country

Becky Celorio - Women's Cross Country

Jonel Boileau - Field Hockey

Marta Penas - Field Hockey

Jonathan Farber - Men's Golf

Jake Winn - Men's Golf

Cynthia Cheng - Women's Golf

Shannon Chadha - Women's Golf

John Reicherter - Men's Lacrosse

Ryan Rielly - Men's Lacrosse

Kaitlin Ayres - Women's Lacrosse

Alexandra Mezzanotte - Women's Lacrosse

Ignacio Gorrono - Men's Soccer

Mario Ruiz - Men's Soccer

Rory Murphy - Men's Soccer

Ruby Staplehurst - Women's Soccer

Lulu Echeverry - Women's Soccer

Ashley Ainbinder - Softball

Danielle Bitts - Softball

Bianca Derrick - Women's Tennis

Sarah Bowen - Women's Tennis

Ari Richman - Men's Tennis

Beau Wills - Men's Tennis

Caity DeCoster - Volleyball

Emily Burke - Volleyball

Cody Ruggirello - Wrestling

Jay Lysne - Wrestling

2013 Fall Semester Meeting Dates

Wednesday, September 24 at 8 p.m. - Margiotta Pride Lounge

Tuesday, October 15 at 8 p.m. - TBD

Wednesday, November 13 at 8 p.m. - Margiotta Pride Lounge

Thursday, December 5 at 8 p.m. - Margiotta Pride Lounge

For questions regarding SAAC, please contact:
James Lally